Thank you 4

Thanks to all my dear friends who call to check on me, and then call again. You know I never stop talking, so keep on calling.

Thanks to my husband, who never fails to be kind.

Thanks to my daughter, who didn’t bat an eye when I told I just didn’t have the time or the energy to finish her Isis costume. She’s happy as a clam with her Walgreens enchantress number. Anything that allows black makeup and hair spray is good.

Thanks to Amy, who should be a professional chemo doula. Those Playmobil cancer warriors rock.

Thanks to my oncology nurse, Michelle, who has a smooth way with an IV needle.

Thanks to Carren, from Grace Cathedral, who is organizing some meals for us.

Thanks to Clair, who will organize more meals for us.

Thanks to the chemo, which gave me a strong day yesterday so that I could do my hike and do the big grocery shop that I should have done BEFORE the chemo.

Thanks to the Giants for winning Game 2. On to Game 3!!!!

About leftbreast

I have had breast cancer. I was diagnosed at 47, and am now 49. I have finished "active treatment," two surgeries, chemo, radiation, monoclonal antibodies. These days, I only take a drug to suppress my uptake of estrogen, since my tumor was highly reactive to that hormone. I have been married to my husband Pete for 21 years. I have a stepdaughter, Maureen, 30, and a daughter, Erin, 10. I've been a freelance magazine journalist for 20-plus years, covering everything from Chinese foreign policy to Catholic nuns to endangered species. I have had a great life. I have lived in Asia and all over the United States. I have spent nights with tree-sitters in Oregon and with astronomers at the Mauna Kea observatory in Hawaii. I've been to a cocktail party on the poopdeck of a British destroyer docked in Shanghai. I've taken the bus to Tibet, and tramped through the cloud forests of Panama with biologists. A magazine sent me on a raft trip down the Colorado through the Grand Canyon; another sent me to cooking school for a week. I have spent time with celebrities, presidents and heroin dealers. I love my work. I have a loving, supportive family and more friends than I probably deserve. I have had the space and time to camp, ski, cycle, garden, cook and spoil my pets (an Australian shepherd, a German shepherd and a tabby cat). If it all ended tomorrow, I would have to say that it has been a really, really good ride. When I was in thick of treatment, I was simply fighting for more time. Now, I'm trying to connect the experience of cancer with the rest of my life, with the time that's been won. I hope the cancer never comes back, but if it does, I'll be ready. That's what this blog is about.
This entry was posted in Thanks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment