The Tab 4

Bills just in, bringing us through infusion number 4 on December 29.

BALANCE FORWARD from Tab 3: $146,665.50

12/9/2010
Outpatient visit to clinic, check up to make sure I’m well enough for infusion 3
$226.00

Half-liter of saline solution
$24.00
Three-quarters of a liter of glucose solution
$36.00
IV push of a new drug
$258.00
Setting up the IV
$44.00
Chemo administration, first hour
$810.00
Chemo administration, second hour. It’s kind of like parking. The first hour is expensive but they give you a break after that!
$258.00
Chemo administration, third hour
$258.00
.49 grams of Herceptin, the monoclonal antibody
$9,506.00
.9 grams of Carboplatin
$9,522.00
.14 grams of Taxotere, of the Taxol family
$8,208.00
8 mg. of Zofran, the anti-nausea drug
$160.00

Subtotal for poison party number three: $29,086

BALANCE FORWARD: $178,751.50

12/29/2010
one-quarter liter glucose solution
$13.00
three-quarters of a liter of saline solution (one prior to each drug)
$36.00
Setting up the IV
$40.00 (four dollars less than last time, is it a sale?)
Chemo administration, first hour
$810.00
Chemo administration, two additional hours
$516.00
Chemo administration, a fourth hour
$258.00
.49 grams of Herceptin
$9506.00
.9 grams of Carboplatin
$9,522.00
.14 grams of Taxotere
$8,208.00
8 mg of Zofran, the anti-nausea drug
$160.00

Subtotal for poison party number 4: $29,327.00

RUNNING TOTAL: $208,078.50

And this is not counting the cost of the prescription meds so far! That’s the next project…

About leftbreast

I have had breast cancer. I was diagnosed at 47, and am now 49. I have finished "active treatment," two surgeries, chemo, radiation, monoclonal antibodies. These days, I only take a drug to suppress my uptake of estrogen, since my tumor was highly reactive to that hormone. I have been married to my husband Pete for 21 years. I have a stepdaughter, Maureen, 30, and a daughter, Erin, 10. I've been a freelance magazine journalist for 20-plus years, covering everything from Chinese foreign policy to Catholic nuns to endangered species. I have had a great life. I have lived in Asia and all over the United States. I have spent nights with tree-sitters in Oregon and with astronomers at the Mauna Kea observatory in Hawaii. I've been to a cocktail party on the poopdeck of a British destroyer docked in Shanghai. I've taken the bus to Tibet, and tramped through the cloud forests of Panama with biologists. A magazine sent me on a raft trip down the Colorado through the Grand Canyon; another sent me to cooking school for a week. I have spent time with celebrities, presidents and heroin dealers. I love my work. I have a loving, supportive family and more friends than I probably deserve. I have had the space and time to camp, ski, cycle, garden, cook and spoil my pets (an Australian shepherd, a German shepherd and a tabby cat). If it all ended tomorrow, I would have to say that it has been a really, really good ride. When I was in thick of treatment, I was simply fighting for more time. Now, I'm trying to connect the experience of cancer with the rest of my life, with the time that's been won. I hope the cancer never comes back, but if it does, I'll be ready. That's what this blog is about.
This entry was posted in The Tab and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tab 4

  1. laurie says:

    hey there,
    i just got my radiation bill: $48,514.00
    this $%^# is expensive!! but, we’re worth it…. 😉
    hope you’re hanging in there.
    xo, laurie

Leave a Reply

