Huh?

While searching for a link to “Dignitana,” the company that make the cold cap I’m using to keep my hair, I got lost in a queue of stories piggy-backing on last month’s MSNBC piece: The New York Post, Chatelaine, the Breast Cancer Site etc. etc. The story spread like Topsy, apparently, and most sites simply credited MSNBC and cut and pasted my quotes. But at least one blog, this one from Black Pride Network, seems to have fed the story into some sort of translator babble machine. Here’s what they say I said, not recognizable as me, hardly recognizable as English:

For some, a advantages transcend a intensity risk. “It’s not only vanity,” says Heather Millar, a repository author who has left underneath a UCSF-tested DigniCap 3 times during chemotherapy for breast cancer and says balding is a many conspicuous badge of a disease. “If you’re using around with a headband on your head, everybody knows we have cancer,” Millar says. “You wish to be means to select who you’re going to share it with.”

Hair detriment also represents one some-more thing cancer rips divided from a woman, Millar says, adding to a prolonged list that includes health and physique parts, a ability to work or a ability to have children. And saying Mom’s hair tumble out is frightening for kids, she adds.

With a DigniCap, Millar estimates she still has 90% of her hair. But she says a procession is unpleasant. The cold can means a brain-freeze-type headache or annoy a skin. “The initial time, we detonate into tears” as a heat neared 50 degrees, she says. But once a scalp numbs from a cold, it feels better.”

This is why the world still needs professional reporters and editors! Not to mention journalistic standards. Oh yes, and grammar.

Here are some of the original quotes:

“But when the 47-year-old San Francisco woman finally cried, the tears fell, in part, at the thought of losing her hair.

“That’s a world you never hope to be a part of,” said Millar, a freelance writer and mother of a 9-year-old daughter. “The hair, it’s not the most important thing, but it’s such a stigma of cancer. The minute you’re wearing a scarf or something, it makes social interactions weird.”

“The cold is pretty intense,” Millar said. “When it starts not to feel good is about 10 degrees Celsius.”

About leftbreast

I have had breast cancer. I was diagnosed at 47, and am now 49. I have finished "active treatment," two surgeries, chemo, radiation, monoclonal antibodies. These days, I only take a drug to suppress my uptake of estrogen, since my tumor was highly reactive to that hormone. I have been married to my husband Pete for 21 years. I have a stepdaughter, Maureen, 30, and a daughter, Erin, 10. I've been a freelance magazine journalist for 20-plus years, covering everything from Chinese foreign policy to Catholic nuns to endangered species. I have had a great life. I have lived in Asia and all over the United States. I have spent nights with tree-sitters in Oregon and with astronomers at the Mauna Kea observatory in Hawaii. I've been to a cocktail party on the poopdeck of a British destroyer docked in Shanghai. I've taken the bus to Tibet, and tramped through the cloud forests of Panama with biologists. A magazine sent me on a raft trip down the Colorado through the Grand Canyon; another sent me to cooking school for a week. I have spent time with celebrities, presidents and heroin dealers. I love my work. I have a loving, supportive family and more friends than I probably deserve. I have had the space and time to camp, ski, cycle, garden, cook and spoil my pets (an Australian shepherd, a German shepherd and a tabby cat). If it all ended tomorrow, I would have to say that it has been a really, really good ride. When I was in thick of treatment, I was simply fighting for more time. Now, I'm trying to connect the experience of cancer with the rest of my life, with the time that's been won. I hope the cancer never comes back, but if it does, I'll be ready. That's what this blog is about.
This entry was posted in Tit Bits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Huh?

  1. Martin says:

    Unbelievable! Sounds like you are talking with a mouth full of marbles.

  2. Catherine says:

    LOL! You just some-more gotta underneath laugh so you won’t detonate into tears!

  3. andrea kannapell says:

    What’s up, tiger lily? (David doesn’t think this is a good comment. I thought it was, until I saw his face.)

  4. gillian says:

    Never heard of this cap but reading your three postings regarding it and see it is a trial. Very curious to see if it works for you. Best of luck. I lost my hair during breast cancer treatment so know what it’s all about although now it has all grown back – in fact, it never went away 100% and I had lots of stubble. The cap sounds agonising though.

  5. gillian says:

    So is it working? Quite fascinating

  6. gillian says:

    Wow! That is fantastic!!!!!!

  7. Sarah Goodyear says:

    “saying Mom’s hair tumble out is frightening for kids.” I guess the heck.

Leave a Reply

