Doing nothing

I haven’t posted for almost a week because I felt like CRAP until last Thursday. Then, I was overwhelmed by how much there was to do after sitting on the couch for a week.

About six days ago, sitting on that couch with wine and a pot brownie mellowing my bloodstream, I watched my oldest friend Clair do the dishes. It was a weird experience, I’m not the kind to sit around. I’m the kind to get up and clear the table.

Yet, half fuzzy-headed and half-nauseated, I sat there gratefully and watched her scrape the plates from the dinner she’d brought over. I watched her wipe down the counters. I watched her put away the leftovers. I watched her dodge the dog, a food-aholic that always tries to lick the dirty dishes in the dishwasher. I watched as she put wine bottles and foil in recycling. I watched as she skeptically eyed all the mac and cheese left on the kid’s plate as dessert came into play. I explained that the kid had already had two pieces of fruit and a plate of pasta when she came home from school. Then, I watched as she called to the kid and asked if she wanted apple cake with caramel sauce. I watched her cut the cake and serve it.

I gratefully ate the cake. The last 10 days have been like that. I am learning that it is much more difficult to accept help than to give it.

Thanks, Clair.

About leftbreast

I have had breast cancer. I was diagnosed at 47, and am now 49. I have finished "active treatment," two surgeries, chemo, radiation, monoclonal antibodies. These days, I only take a drug to suppress my uptake of estrogen, since my tumor was highly reactive to that hormone. I have been married to my husband Pete for 21 years. I have a stepdaughter, Maureen, 30, and a daughter, Erin, 10. I've been a freelance magazine journalist for 20-plus years, covering everything from Chinese foreign policy to Catholic nuns to endangered species. I have had a great life. I have lived in Asia and all over the United States. I have spent nights with tree-sitters in Oregon and with astronomers at the Mauna Kea observatory in Hawaii. I've been to a cocktail party on the poopdeck of a British destroyer docked in Shanghai. I've taken the bus to Tibet, and tramped through the cloud forests of Panama with biologists. A magazine sent me on a raft trip down the Colorado through the Grand Canyon; another sent me to cooking school for a week. I have spent time with celebrities, presidents and heroin dealers. I love my work. I have a loving, supportive family and more friends than I probably deserve. I have had the space and time to camp, ski, cycle, garden, cook and spoil my pets (an Australian shepherd, a German shepherd and a tabby cat). If it all ended tomorrow, I would have to say that it has been a really, really good ride. When I was in thick of treatment, I was simply fighting for more time. Now, I'm trying to connect the experience of cancer with the rest of my life, with the time that's been won. I hope the cancer never comes back, but if it does, I'll be ready. That's what this blog is about.
This entry was posted in Day By Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doing nothing

  1. Clair Hadley says:

    You’re very welcome. While it is a hard lesson to learn, it is also an important lesson to learn! I’m sure that this whole experience will give you a perspective on, well, perspective. And if you put up resistance to being helped we will be forced to skywrite “Surrender, Dorothy” over your house over and over and over again.

Leave a Reply

